Carmen in 3D…

April 25, 2011

…is an AWESOME thing.

I could have sworn I wrote about my Carmen in 3D experience right after I saw it, but alas it is nowhere to be found. So I will try to recollect my thoughts about it, which shouldn’t be hard, because  it was so awesome! Well, except for that 20 minutes or so beforehand where I had to be subjected to Justin Bieber’s movie “Never Say Never.”  Ugh!  How could you mix up the movies!? It felt like I had already watched half of the thing before one of the guys that worked in the theater finally realized that the WRONG movie was showing!  We {the entire audience} thought it was just a very long preview…until we realized it was the actual movie, in which some older teens behind me were giggling over the things all the little girls in the movie were saying about their idol. It was funny, I must admit. I see now why they call it “Beiber Fever.”  The way they were acting and the things they were saying… these kids had certainly lost their mind! Anyway, enough of Bieber (yah, literally, please!)

So, I sat there in the theater decked out with a red rose in my hair,  red sweatshirt and dorky 3D glasses.  All I needed was a shirt that said “Dorky for Carmen!” If you didn’t see Carmen in 3D, you missed a big part of opera history! OR, just a really cool experience. I hope more operas in 3D come this way! And like I mentioned in my last post, I didn’t understand why the Met used “I Puritani” as their first live broadcast. And I still believe if it wasn’t for Netrebko (and the things they played during the intermissions which  made it more interesting…or less boring,) I just don’t know if the live transmissions would still be going on today. ( I’d be curious to know what others think about that. Please do leave a reply comment!) The Royal Opera House did it right the first time- they used one of THE most famous and well-known operas to date- Bizet’s Carmen.  And not just was the 3D aspect part of it totally amazing, but it was truly the best production of Carmen I have ever seen.

Let’s talk about 3D for a minute. “3D” and the Met’s “Live in HD”- both cool. But adding the 3D part to it really made it an even better experience…by far.  It was really like you were there on the stage and in the the story.  You were IN Carmen’s world. It brought the characters closer and everything even clearer. My favorite part was the card trio scene, in the beginning when Mercedes and the other gypsy is telling their own fortunes. They both were right there in front of me, on their knees, and I felt like I was a gypsy too sitting right in front of them. It was crazy!  Trying to explain how different opera is in 3D is not easy, it really has to be experienced. It was totally incredible and mesmerizingly memorable (try saying that three times!)  And yes, the singing on everyone’s part was fabulous, the chorus included. Lots of great dancing.  Tons of confetti. Full of surprises. Carmen in full grandiose. It’s a production like non other, and one that could easily stand on its own without the 3D aspect. So as soon as I can find it on DVD- it’s MINE!  Thank you Royal Opera for allowing us to experience such a wonderful thing! Here’s to more opera in 3D!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

